Cheap Appétit Recipe No. 005: Leftover Fried Rice with Jasmine Green Tea Soup (Microwave Oven Recipe)

By Tana Kosiyabong

Leftover Yang Chow Fried Rice with Jasmine Green Tea Soup

I was looking forward to staying an extra hour longer under my warm, cozy blanket this daylight-saving Sunday. Unfortunately, Angus, my pet dog, has never heard of such a concept. He still woke up the same time as usual (though it’s now an hour earlier on the clock) and demanded to go potty ASAP. I had no choice but to get off my bed and strolled the chilly street with Angus and a few poo bags. After the morning ritual, I fed him with his raw food diet and jumped right back to bed.

A couple of hours later, I finally got hungry. However, I’d rather stay home with a warm blanket than went out for a grub in the cold. So I searched through the fridge and found a box of the leftover Yang Chow fried rice I had from a few nights ago. That’s good enough for a starter. A minute later, an idea came to me. Here’s how I fixed my brunch earlier today:

INGREDIENTS

Leftover Yang Chow Fried Rice with Jasmine Green Tea Ingredients

– 1-2 cups of leftover fried rice

– 1 bag of jasmine green tea (or other light tea such as white tea, Gen Mai tea, etc.)

– 1 mug of water

– 2-3 pieces of crackers (of your choice)

COOKING INSTRUCTIONS

Leftover Fried Rice with Jasmine Green Tea Soup Step1

STEP 1. Boil a mug of water in a microwave oven for 3-4 minutes. Then add a bag of jasmine green tea into the hot water.

Leftover Fried Rice with Jasmine Green Tea Step 2

STEP 2. While waiting for the tea to brew, put the leftover fried rice in a microwave safe bowl and pop it in the microwave oven. Heat it up for a few minutes.

Leftover Fried Rice with Jasmine Green Tea Step 3

STEP 3. Once the rice is hot, add the jasmine green tea to the bowl.

Leftover Yang Chow Fried Rice with Jasmine Green Tea Step 4

STEP 4. Top with a few pieces of crackers and serve immediately.

Enjoy and Cheap Appétit!

©2011 Tana Kosiyabong and CheapAppetite.com™. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

Become fans on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Read more Cheap Appétit recipes

Share your favorite cheap eats

4 thoughts on “Cheap Appétit Recipe No. 005: Leftover Fried Rice with Jasmine Green Tea Soup (Microwave Oven Recipe)

Leave a Reply

