We’re Suckers for the Half-Price Starbucks Frappuccino.

By Tana Kosiyabong, Sharon, Kylie and Stacey

Starbucks Half-Price Frappuccino Promotion

Last Friday, my coworker Sharon came over to my desk and told me about the half-price Starbucks Frappuccino. “Let’s go now,” I exclaimed. “Well, we have to wait until 3 pm,” she replied. According to Starbucks website, the Frappuccino Happy Hour is only valid between 3 and 5 pm, from May 6 to 15, 2011. I don’t know why they came out with this promotion when the weather is still cold. But I don’t care because I’m a sucker for all kinds of cheap food and drinks. (Sharon and several other coworkers in the office are also suckers for the half-price fraps.)

At 3 pm sharp, Sharon walked by my desk again. She had already put on her jacket and was ready to go. “C’mon, it’s time!” she said. Without hesitation, I jumped off the chair and we were on our way to the Starbucks store across the street.

Anyhow, let’s skip to Monday (May 9th) when I first had an idea to make this promotion a new Cheap Appetite mission. Sharon and I went back to the same Starbucks again during the Frappuccino Happy Hour. She ordered a tall Mocha Frap without the whipped cream ($1.98 plus HST), and I got a grande Strawberry and Crème Frap ($2.23 plus HST). (Why can’t they just call it small instead of tall, and medium instead of grande? Freakin’ annoying.)

Starbucks Mocha Frappuccino and Starbucks Strawberry and Creme Frapuccino

MOCHA FRAPPUCCINO (by Sharon): It hits the spot of a 3 pm jolt of caffeine. ©©© ¾

STRAWBERRY AND CREME FRAPPUCCINO (by Tana): Refreshing sweet and tart flavor. Wish they added some fresh strawberry to the mix though. ©©© ¾

On Tuesday, Sharon got a small Vanilla Bean Frap with non-fat milk and no whipped cream ($1.73 plus HST) and I went for a medium Java Chip Frap ($2.23 plus HST).

Starbucks Vanilla Beans Frappuccino and Starbucks Java Chip Frappuccino

NON-FAT VANILLA BEAN FRAPPUCCINO (by Sharon): It’s like ice cream. I like it a lot. It’s cheaper too! ©©©©

JAVA CHIP FRAPPUCCINO (by Tana): Although it was chocolatey and mocha-like, I was disappointed to find out that the “Chips” are actually “chocolate chips,” not coffee chips (or Flakes) like I expected. It was also too sweet for my taste. ©©©

On Wednesday, Sharon took a rain check because she had already drunk too much sugar from a free Fruitopia she got with a Quizno coupon. So I went by myself. Because Sharon raved so much about the Vanilla Bean Frap, I decided to give it a try. However, there was no way in hell that I would go for the non fat milk like she did. I paid $1.98 plus HST for my medium Vanilla Bean Frap.

Starbucks Vanilla Bean Frappuccino

VANILLA BEAN FRAPPUCCINO (by Tana): OMG. Sharon was right. It’s just like drinking melted Vanilla ice cream. I wish it was slightly less sugary though. Love the cheaper price! ©©©©

Thursday afternoon was warm and sunny. My coworker Kylie and Stacey had also joined Sharon and I on the half-price Frap mission. Kylie ordered a medium Vanilla Bean Frap ($1.98 plus HST); Stacey got a medium Coconut Creme Frap ($2.23 plus HST); Sharon went for a small Double Chocolaty Chip Frap made with non-fat milk ($1.98 plus HST); I chose a medium Matcha Frap ($2.23 plus HST).

Starbucks Vanilla Bean Frappuccino and Coconut Cream Frappuccino

VANILLA BEAN FRAPPUCCINO: (by Kylie): It is delicious with a hint of magical undertones. ©©©©1/2

COCONUT CREAM FRAPPUCCINO: (by Stacey): Consistency is good – smooth and not too icy. Flavour tastes like condensed milk or sweet coconut milk. It needs something extra, like a hit of strawberry or coconut flakes – then it would be better. ©©©3/4

Starbucks Double Chocolaty Chip Frappuccino and Matcha Frappuccino

NON-FAT DOUBLE CHOCOLATY CHIP FRAPPUCCINO: (by Sharon): Perfect amount of chocolate chunks for a little crunch. Like dessert. ©©©©

MATCHA FRAPPUCCINO: Taste like cold, refreshing Matcha Latte. I love that they use green tea powder which is quite potent. Like most Fraps, I wish it would be less sugary. If you love Matcha (green tea) ice cream, you’ll like this. ©©©©

On Friday the 13th (not a scary movie sequal), Sharon took a day off, and I also too a half day off. So I went to the Starbucks and got myself a medium Coffee Frap ($1.98 plus HST). The next day (Saturday) I ordered a Raspberry Frap ($2.21 plus HST). The cashier didn’t even know that it existed until I show him that Raspberry is on the “Create Your Own Frap” list.

Starbucks Coffee Frappuccino and Raspberry Frapppuccino

COFFEE FRAPPUCCINO: I like the simplicity and refreshing taste of iced coffee. And it’s a bit cheaper than most Fraps. But again, it was a little too sweet for my taste. ©©©3/4

RASPBERRY FRAPPUCCINO: It was a big disappointment. The Raspberry flavor was weak. Not even worth two bucks. ©©

I’m going back for my favorite Vanilla bean today (Sunday) and finally wrap up the mission. Once the promotion is over, there will be no more Frappuccino for me. Although I’m a sucker for the half-price Fraps, I definitely won’t pay a full-price for one.

©2011 Tana Kosiyabong and CheapAppetite.com™. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

Become fans on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Share your favorite cheap eats

Try my Cheap Appétit recipes

2 thoughts on “We’re Suckers for the Half-Price Starbucks Frappuccino.

Leave a Reply

