Gain Wah Restaurant Part 2 — Lemongrass Pork Chop Noodle Soup and more

By Tana Kosiyabong

Lemon Grass Noodle Soup at Gain Wah restaurant in China Town

First of all, I’d like to offer my condolences to everyone in Japan, especially to those in the earthquake/tsunami disaster areas. I’m truly impressed and touched by how they all are coping with the horrible situation. And I wish them all the best for the future.

Now let’s get back to the business. As I mentioned in the previous post, this week is also about Gain Wah. On the second visit, I ordered an impressive dish called the Lemongrass Pork Chop Noodle Soup ($4.25 HST included–or around $3.80 before HST). Believe it or not, it was actually the most expensive noodle soup on the green sheet menu (under the glass table top). The others – bbq pork, beef ball, fish ball, beef brisket, and minced pork noodle soups – were priced at $3.95 (HST included).

Lemon Grass Noodle Soup at Gain Wah restaurant in China Town

The dish was served in a tiny 6-inch bowl. I was underwhelmed with the size at first, but then, felt content with the amount of noodles hidden underneath the pork chop. The egg noodles were perfectly cooked and the Chinese style broth was seasoned just right. Neither too bland nor too salty. The green onion enhanced the broth flavor profile even more. Best of all, the lemongrass pork chop not only looked mouth-watering, but also tasted heavenly. For just over four bucks, I had bought myself a trip to cloud nine.

Lemon Grass Noodle Soup at Gain Wah restaurant in China Town

Lemon Grass Noodle Soup at Gain Wah restaurant in Chinatown

My second visit was a great success. Perhaps it was even better than the first one. The noodle soup was as good, if not better, as the braised cod and tofu hot pot. But the price was way cheaper. The following visits were also good. And it would have been such a waste if I didn’t tell you about them.

On the third, I ordered the braised lamb on rice ($6.50 HST included). The dish was simple, subtle yet comforting. It was exactly what I imagined a home-cooked meal in the Northern China would be. The Chinese spices were added just enough to mask the gamey smell of the lamb, but not overpowering the entire dish. The fermented bean curd dipping sauce was quite stinky. It took me off guard on my first try. However, if used in a very small amount, it would complement the flavor of the lamb really well.

Pan Fried Green Onion Pancake at Gain Wah restaurant in China Town

Pan FriedGreen Onion Pancake at Gain Wah restaurant in China Town

On the fourth visit, I experienced mixed results. The barbecued pork noodle soup ($3.95) was very salty. I didn’t understand why the broth wasn’t as good as before. I hope it was just a bad day. However, I had discovered a great appetizer/snack. The pan-fried green onion pancake ($2.25) was to die for. The outside crust was consisted of a few crispy thin and flaky layers. The inside was soft and chewy. Only if it were a bit more oniony, it would have been perfect. Even then, it was one of the best green onion pancake I have ever had. I told myself I would only eat half of it because it was too fattening. But before I knew it, the whole thing had already disappeared in my stomach. It’s dangerously yummy!

For the pictures of all the dishes mentioned above, please click here.

Gain Wah Lemongrass Pork Chop Noodle Soup: ©©©©1/2

Gain Wah Braised Lamb on Rice: ©©©3/4

Gain Wah Barbecued Pork Noodle Soup: ©©© (The broth was to salty that day.)

Gain Wah Pan-fried Green Onion Pancake: ©©©©1/2

Gain Wah is located at 218 Keefer Street, Vancouver BC. (T) 604.684.1740

Store Hours: 10 am to midnight. Monday to Sunday.

©2011 Tana Kosiyabong and CheapAppetite.com™. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

Become fans on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Share your favorite cheap eats

Try my Cheap Appétit recipes

Gain Wah on Urbanspoon

12 thoughts on “Gain Wah Restaurant Part 2 — Lemongrass Pork Chop Noodle Soup and more

  1. Pork chop in wanton noodle soup! Something different to me but I really like that pancake. Just look at those layers. Simply scrumptious! Hope you’re having a great week ahead, Tana.
    Best regards, Kristy

  2. Oh my goodness… More 4 ©s?! That means I should check this place out sometime soon! XD
    Lol… merci pour tes commentaires, c’est gentil. Do you speak French or was it Google translate? 😉

    1. you should try it amyhou. The pancake and the lemongrass pork chop noodle soup get even higher © than the braised cod. But the soup broth wasn’t as good when I had the bbq pork noodle soup. So inconsistent.

      You got me. I just use the google language tool. lol. I only know “Merci,” “Bonjour” a few other words in french.

  3. Howdy:
    I bet the lemongrass pork chop soup was yummy. The noodles looks firm and the braised pork was perfect. But too bad because they don’t have constant taste. Good you were able to have pancake as a remedy to your salty noodle soup on the fourth day.
    Keep posting!
    -EDS

    1. Thanks Eat Drink Smile. THe lemongrass pork chop noodle soup was great the day I went. Then The bbq pork noodle soup was too salty. So I’m not sure how consistent this place is. But for about $4 bucks it’s worth a try 🙂

Leave a Reply

