Savoury Korean Seafood Pancake at Wang Ga Ma—No Maple Syrup Needed.

By Tana Kosiyabong

Korean Seafood Pancake at H-mart Food Court

While working late last week, my co-worker and I somehow talked about the Korean seafood pancake. At the time, it sounded so good that I wished I had tasted a piece right then and there. By the time I finished my work, it was too late for the savoury pancake.

The next day I went straight to the Wang Ga Ma for the dish I craved overnight. The restaurant is located at H-Mart food court, 2nd floor (next to E-Mo and Kim’s Snack, food vendors I wrote about a while back). Once there, I wasted no time to order the Korean Seafood Pancake ($9.95). Although the dish was pricier than what I normally paid for a meal, this was a case of food emergency.

The H-mart food court was packed during the lunch hour. It is one of my favorites food court in the downtown Vancouver area. The majority of the patrons was Asians, which I took it as a good indicator.

Wang Ga Ma’s Korean Seafood Pancake

Korean Seafood Pancake at Wang Ga Ma, H-Mart food court, Downtown Vancouver

Soon after, my number was called. The pancake was prepared in a hot plate which kept sizzling for several minutes later. The golden brown crust made me drool on the way back to the table. And drooling some more while taking photos of this mouth-watering dish. Once finished, it was time for the taste test. The first bite was worth waiting for. The contrasting texture of the crispy crust and the cookie-doughy inside was perfect. The aromatic pan-fried scallions added beautiful flavor to the dish. It was a hybrid between the Chinese scallion pancake and the Japanese Okonomiyaki. Wang Ga Ma’s Korean seafood pancake is about a half inch thick. The only complaint was that the seafoods (squid, small shrimps and imitation crab meat) were somewhat scarce in the pancake.

The dish was served with spicy soy sauce and a small bowl of Korean white beef broth. The soy sauce was bold and flavorful while the beef broth was subtle and delicate. Both helped subdue the oily taste quite well.

As delicious as the Korean pancakes were, I couldn’t finish them all. After four pieces, the grease started to overwhelm me. The dish was best for sharing with others as snacks. So be sure to bring a friend or two with you while on your own Cheap Appetite mission. If you can’t find anyone to go with, remember that you can always bring the leftover home and re-fried them on a nonstick pan the next day.

Wang Ga Ma Korean Seafood Pancake: ©©© 1/2

Wang Ga Ma (Downtown Vancouver) is located at 590 Robson Street, Vancouver, BC V6B3B7 (T) 604.614.7100

©2011 Tana Kosiyabong and CheapAppetite.com™. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

Become fans on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Share your favorite cheap eats

Try my Cheap Appétit recipes

10 thoughts on “Savoury Korean Seafood Pancake at Wang Ga Ma—No Maple Syrup Needed.

  1. So, did you bring home the leftover? hehe… Probably, you should bring me along next time. :o) I’ll help you th efinish up the rest *sigh*…. Yeap, you did paid more but worth it though. Hope you’re having a great day, dear.
    Cheers, Kristy
    p/s thank you very much for the new year wishes! Really appreciate it.

    1. Yes I did Kristy. And it lasts a couple more meals :0). lol. Can’t eat too much of the greasy stuff. But the fresh one is the best imho. If you visit here, I’ll definitely share with you 🙂

Leave a Reply

