Sandwich so weird it’s worth a try—Bulgogi Waffle Sando at Miura Waffle Milk Bar

By Tana Kosiyabong

Miura Bulgogi Waffle Sando (sandwich)

You may wonder what the hell “Sando” is. No worries — you’re not alone. I didn’t know either until I learned the answer, thanks to Miura Waffle Milk Bar’s take-out menu. According to said menu, “Sando” is derived from a Japanese word “Sandoicchi” which means “Sandwich.” Therefore, Bulgogi Waffle Sando is basically a Korean-style barbecued sandwich that’s made with waffle instead of bread. Sounds weird yet intriguing, doesn’t it? In fact, it made me so curious I had to check it out.

So I walked into Miura Waffle Milk Bar at around 3 pm last Wednesday. Perhaps it was a post-lunch downtime, but there were no other customers there. However I didn’t let that bother me; I walked straight to the counter and ordered a Bulgogi Waffle Sando ($5.99) from the Savory Waffle Sandos Menu. I then found out that I could add a bowl of soup and a small coffee/tea for an extra $2. Since it was freakin’ cold outside, I decided to make it a combo ($7.99 total).

Miura Bulgogi Waffle Sando Combo ($7.99)

As I checked out Miura’s clean and modern décor my bulgogi waffle sando combo was served. At first glance I was somewhat disappointed by the soup and coffee portions, as shown on the above photo. I got only half a bowl of the cream of mushroom soup and about 2/3 cup of coffee (pre-milk). I felt like I was cheated out of my food portion.

Fortunately however, the bulgogi waffle sando is a good snack size. The waffle was thick, soft and fluffy. A couple strips of bulgogi were strategically baked into the waffles. In between the two pieces of waffles there were egg salad sauce, kimchi and parsley. The first bite was unique yet disappointing. Although it was yummy, the sando didn’t have enough of the bulgogi taste I was expecting. The flavor of egg salad sauce overpowered the Korean barbecued beef. I wish the sandwich had more meat and much less egg sauce. As it is, they should change the name to the egg salad sando instead. When I tasted the bulgogi strip by itself, it was garlicky and beefy; too bad the restaurant didn’t try to showcase it more.

The cream of mushroom was really creamy and delicious. It tasted like fresh homemade soup to me. The mushrooms were thinly sliced giving the illusion of chunkiness. I much prefer that style over small cubes of mushrooms, and I wished I could have had more of it. The coffee, on the other hand, was nothing to write home about.

Miura bulgogi waffle sando (close up)

My Cheap Appetite mission to Miura was a unique experience. It was my first time trying a waffle sandwich. I’ve gotta give props to Asian people who make all these crazy yet tasty concoctions: Teri-mayo hot dogs from Japadog; Bulgogi Waffle Sandwich from Miura. The sky’s the limit. Who knows what they’ll come up with next.

Miura’s Bulgogi Waffle Sandwich: ©©©

Miura’s sweet and savory waffle sando prices are ranged from $4.00 to $6.99. Miura also sells plain, flavoured milk (maple, strawberry and mango), and yoggy milk (flavoured drinking yoghurt—blueberry and pineapple.)

Miura Waffle Milk Bar is located at 829 Davie Street, Vancouver, BC (T) 604.687.2909

Restaurant Hours: Mon-Fri (9am-7pm), Sat (10am-7pm) Close on Sunday & Holidays.

BUDGET BREAKDOWN:

Remaining Budget: $59.49

Budget Spent: -$7.99 ($HST not included)

Budget Available: $51.50

©2010 Tana Kosiyabong and CheapAppetite.com™. All rights reserved.

Become fans on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Share your favorite cheap eats

Miura Waffle Milk Bar on Urbanspoon

16 thoughts on “Sandwich so weird it’s worth a try—Bulgogi Waffle Sando at Miura Waffle Milk Bar

    1. Yup it’s a weird sandwich alright. It was pretty good, although I was a bit disappointed with the very small amount of bulgogi in the whole sandwich. But gotta give them props for the uniqueness.

  1. Hmm, kimchi on waffle just sounds so wrong, I wish I like Korean food but often find it strange tasting compared to all other Asian cuisine.

    1. I know what you meant, imkoonta. It took me a while to appreciate korean food. But now I like it. Miura also serves a Hoisin Waffle sando, or a BLT waffle sando too. Or you can opt for sweet waffle sando like banana caramel or cookies n cream too. 🙂

  2. Oh boy, another cool stuff here! I was laughing when I saw this waffle sandwich. What a great idea of having it in an absolute different way. I’m not sure if I like it but I at least will try it myself. Hope you’re having a wonderful day.
    Cheers, Kristy

    1. lol. it’s a weird combo of flavors. Not everyone will like this sandwich but it’s so weird you should try it kristy 🙂 I’m on the fence about this one (tastewise) because it doesn’t have enough bulgogi flavor. But i have to give an extra point for its uniqueness.

  3. Nice one, Tana! I made a note of this place as I was rushing back to my car a few weeks ago to try it during the next film fest. Now I know it is worthwhile. Do you know why they have “milk bar” in the resto name??

    1. Hey grayelf,
      Glad to hear from you again. The sandwich is worth trying because of its uniqueness more so than the taste. Although I think it was pretty good, but it doesn’t have enough bulgogi flavor for a bulgogi sandwich.

      Miura also sells plain, flavored milk (maple, strawberry, and mango.), and yoggy milks (drinking yoghurt); hence the name “milk bar.” 🙂 Great question. I’ll add this to the post! Thanks.

  4. WHAAATTT???!!! I love bulgogi, but to add a soft waffle in there?? I am in heaven. I have to admit that I am sad to hear that your experience wasn’t a very good one….that it was more like an egg sauce waffle sandwich and not a bulgogi waffle sandwich. I wonder if I can make some adjustments here at the house to make this a TRUE bulgogi and waffle sandwich! 🙂 Thanks for sharing@ And thanks for trying it!

    1. I don’t mind the experience Patty. It was very unique. But you’re so right. It’s more like egg sauce waffle sandwich than a bulgogi waffle sandwich. I’m sure you can make a better on, Patty. Waffle with lots of bulgogi fillings. Hmmmm YUM! Let me know if you make some. I’d love to check it out on your post 🙂

Leave a Reply

