Unforgettable crust at Unforgettable Pizza

By Tana Kosiyabong

Unforgettable Pizza Special

It’s been a while since I wrote about pizza. If you followed my blog from the start, you’d probably remember my favourite Goldies Rustic Pizza. Unfortunately, since my review, Goldies has become even pricier. Many of their pizzas are now sold for $3 to $3.50 per slice. Although they still offer a few cheaper options, it’s time to find a back up plan in case they hiked up their prices again.

A few weeks ago, Nancy, my coworker, told me about the Unforgettable pizza. The Wednesday and Friday specials she told me sounded interesting. For $5, you get two slices of pizza and a can of pop. Since I had no other plans and it was Friday, I decided to declare a Cheap Appetite mission on it.

Before I headed out, I did a quick research online. According to their website, Unforgettable pizza offers New York Style thin crust pizza. The restaurant was established in 1992. Their made-to-order pizzas pie came in 10-inch, 14-inch and 18-inch sizes; The prices are ranged from $12.99 to $27.99 depending on sizes and toppings. A limited choices of pastas, wraps and calzones are also available.

Unforgettable Pizza is a mom and pop joint located on West 8th Avenue between Cambie and Yukon Streets. As I reached the restaurant, the street signage advertised that their regular price is $2.50 per slice. With the Wednesday/Friday deals, I practically got a free drink out of it.

When I got inside, several patrons had already lined up to order. Unforgettable pizza by slice were pre-baked and displayed in a glass case; therefore it didn’t take long to wait in line. Once it was my turn, I chose one chicken (or perhaps turkey) and one chorizo (or some kind of italian sausages). Then the staff (and perhaps owner) reheated them in the oven for a few minutes.

Unforgettable Pizza Wednesday & Friday Specials (close-up)

Shortly after, my pizzas were ready. I picked them up and went to sit at a table just right outside. When I visited this restaurant a few weeks ago, the weather was still nice enough to enjoy while having lunch.

Dying to eat the delicious-looking pizza, I rushed through the photo session so I could start the taste test. The first bite was astonishing. I could hear the crunchy sound while I sank my teeth into it as if the outer crust (at the bottom of the pizza) was made with a thin layer of crispy toast. The inner crust, however, was still soft and chewy. From the moment I tried the perfect ensemble of textures in a bite, I will never forget those delicious crusts. Perhaps this was why they named the joint “Unforgettable Pizza.”

The toppings were tasty and fresh. The restaurant seemed to like green onions a lot. They were added to many pizzas in the display case. Since I am not a big fan of green onions (with a few exceptions), I was concerning about them at first. During the taste test, however, the mild green onion flavor didn’t bother me at all.

Although the toppings were not as impressive as the crust, Unforgettable Pizza are more than deserved to be my back up plan. If they are closer to my condo, who knows, they could have been my plan A.

Unforgettable Pizza (by slice) Wednesday & Friday Specials: ©©©©

Unforgettable Pizza is located at 450 West 8th Avenue, Vancouver, BC (T) 604.739.7389

BUDGET BREAKDOWN:
Remaining Budget: $82.78
Budget Spent: -$5.00
Budget Available: $77.78

NOTE: Please call to confirm the Wednesday & Friday specials before you make a trip to the restaurants. Promotion subjects to change without notice.

©2010 Tana Kosiyabong and CheapAppetite.com™. All rights reserved.

Become fans on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Share your favorite cheap eats

Read more Cheap Appétit recipes

Unforgettable Pizza & Pasta on Urbanspoon

10 thoughts on “Unforgettable crust at Unforgettable Pizza

  1. Highly addictive pizza, the sauce,the thin crust New York Style Pizza is Unforgettable!

    You don’t feel too full, yet satisfied!

Leave a Reply

