Cheap Appétit Recipe No. 004: Mussaman Curry Turkey with Fries and/or Toasted Bagel

By  Tana Kosiyabong

Leftover Turkey Recipe

A couple of days ago, I went to T&T supermarket near Tinseltown around 8:30 pm. I strategically chose to go at the closing hour because the prices of various food items were deeply marked down. As I scanned through the display fridges, I stumbled upon a pack of smoked turkey meat on sale for $1.99.

Before I knew it, my brain cells had already form a committee in my cranium, and unanimously voted to purchase that cold tray of meat. Shortly after, I was also informed that they had decided that I must cook a strange Cheap Appétit concoction named Massaman Curry Turkey with fries.

“What, are you guys nuts? Curry and Fries? How did you come up with that?” I complaint to the committee.

“We have leftover fries from lunch, turkey meat, and a can of Massamun curry at home.” the spokesperson sternly replied.

“And it’s perfect for the Thanksgivings leftover turkey recipe too,” Mr. President added with his squeaky voice.

“And I need to see a shrink,” I mumbled to myself.

If you have ever dealt with the mighty bureaucrats before, you would know how useless it was to protest the committee’s decision. All I can do was to buy a multi-grain bagel just in case the fries wouldn’t work out with the curry, then headed home. The next day, I found myself cooking the Mussaman Turkey with fries for lunch as I was told.

INGREDIENTS:

Leftover Turkey recipe/ingredients
1 can of 386 ml Aroy-D Mussaman Curry ($1.99 at Nester Market at Abbot and Cordova Streets)
250 grams of Turkey meat ($1.99 on sale at T&T—If you use leftover turkey, it is technically free)
1 handful of leftover fries (technically free)
5-6 baby carrots (optional-I already have them at home)
5-6 Thai basil leaves (optional-I already have them at home)
¼ cup of water or chicken stock
10 roasted peanuts (optional–I don’t have them at home, so I skipped them.)

HOW TO MAKE MASSAMAN TURKEY CURRY

1. Open a can of Aroy-D Massaman Curry and pour into a small pot. (For a one-handed can-opening method, click here.)

Leftover Turkey Recipe

2. Throw in the leftover turkey meat, baby carrots and ¼ cup of water/stock into the pot. If you have roasted peanuts, throw them in as well.

Leftover Turkey Recipe

3. Bring the curry to a boil; then turn the heat down to low and let it simmer for 15-20 minutes.

Leftover Turkey Recipe
4. Turn the heat off. Serve with fries or toasted bagel. (Read the serving suggestion below before serve.)

HOW TO REHEAT THE LEFTOVER FRIES

1. Preheat the oven at 375 °F for 10 minutes
2. While waiting for the oven, line an oven-safe pan with a sheet of aluminum foil. Place basil leaves on top of the foil (optional).

How to Re-heat leftover French Fries
3. Add the leftover fries to the pan; spread them out into a thin layer.

How to Re-heat leftover French Fries
4. Once the oven is ready, pop the pan in; then bake the fries for 15 minutes or until crispy.

How to Re-heat leftover French Fries

5. Take the fries out of the oven. Let them sit for a couple of minutes. Then serve with the curry. (Read the serving suggestion below before serve)

Leftover Turkey Recipes

THE TASTE TEST

The first bite was a happy surprise. The crispy fries did go well with the mussamun curry. Thanks to the simmered time, the turkey meats had absorbed the lovely curry flavor. I was impressed by the brain cell committee’s decision. However, a few spoonfuls later, it became clear that the dish was too oily due to the grease from both the curry and the fries. I had a hard time finishing it. But no worries, I can fix this. Please read the serving suggestion below to see how.

SERVING SUGGESTION:

If you were to try this recipe, use a small amount of the mussaman curry as a sauce on top of the fries, instead of dumping the fries in a bowl full of massaman curry like I did on this post. In this way, it wouldn’t become overly greasy after a few bites. You can also eat the curry with other non-greasy carbs such as toasted bagel, toasts, or steamed rice.

NOTE:
Later that night, I had Mussamun Curry Turkey with toasted bagel. It was way better than the greasy lunch. Tana:1, the brain cell committee:0. Happy Thanksgivings everyone!

BUDGET BREAKDOWN:

Remaining Budget: $94.77

Budget Spent: -$5 ($1.99 (curry) + $1.99 (turkey) +$0.69 (bagel) +$0.43 (misc. ingredients))

Budget Available: $89.77

©2010 Tana Kosiyabong and CheapAppetite.com™. All rights reserved.

Become fans on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Share your favorite cheap eats

Read more Cheap Appétit recipes

10 thoughts on “Cheap Appétit Recipe No. 004: Mussaman Curry Turkey with Fries and/or Toasted Bagel

  1. I have no idea how you did this, but this dish looks absolutely incredible. I can just see the delicious succulent spices jumping off the screen and onto my taste buds. You are incredibly creative! Who would have ever thought of fries! I’m in full support of this idea!

    1. hehe. thanks patty. It tasted pretty good too. Just a bit too greasy. But i think adjusting the proportion of the curry and fries as suggested in the post would help :). I wouldn’t think of it either if I don’t have some leftover fries from the previous night. 🙂

  2. Tana, I’m still trying to imagine the flavour! Very interesting indeed. Frankly, I love everything in there. ^_^ Thanks alot for this. Hope you’re enjoying your day.
    Cheers, Kristy

  3. Kristy, you can find potatoes in most mussaman curry, and yellow curry anyway. I just happened to have leftover fried potatoes at home. So just think of curry with some crunchy textures in it 🙂

Leave a Reply

