Lightning Speed Knife Action and Zha Jiang Mian at Sha-Lin Noodle House

By Tana Kosiyabong

Zha Jiang Mian handmade cutting noodles at Sha-lin Noodle House

I have been freelancing near West Broadway and Cambie streets for two weeks now. Up until last month, I had rarely spent time in this neighborhood even though it is just across the Cambie Bridge from downtown Vancouver. This freelance gig gives me a great opportunity to explore this unfamiliar territory.

Boy, was I glad to find out that the area is full of culinary adventures, especially the South side of the West Broadway five hundred block. It houses at least ten restaurants including a montreal-style sandwich shop, a pizza joint, a couple of handmade Northern Chinese noodle shops, an East Indian, a couple of Japanese, a Vietnamese/Cambodian, a Mexican, and a health-conscious fusion restaurants. Before my contract ends, I intend to try each and every one of them at least once.

On the first day of discovery, I had walked up and down the block trying to make up my mind. Eventually I decided to go with Sha-lin Noodle house because it looked like an older establishment. Sha-lin’s direct competitor, Peaceful Restaurant is located only a few restaurants away. Both of them serve Northern Chinese Cuisine and handmade noodles. I love this kind of rivalry. And I will definitely check Peaceful Restaurant out in one of my future missions.

Fortunately, when I stepped into Sha-lin Noodle House, there was an empty table right by the window. So I quickly grabbed it before someone else did. As a food blogger, I always play a game called window seats (similar to the musical chairs except no music) whenever I’m on a mission. Equipped with only a low-end camera and no other decent artificial light sources, window seats are my best friends. Without natural light, my food photos would look as crappy as the camera.

According to the menu, Sha-Lin serves five kinds of noodles: dragging, cutting, pushing, rolling and round noodles. I have no idea what most of the noodles are except for the dragging and cutting noodles which I had tried from the Legendary Noodles on Denman St.

Since Sha-lin has extensive selections of noodle soups on the menu, I figured I should give it a try. So I ordered pork and vegetables with pushing noodle soup ($6.95) which I would love to know what it is.

After the order, however, I saw Zha Jiang noodles on a few tables around me. It looked so yummy that I had a change of heart. So I called a waitress and asked if it was too late to switch my order to Zha Jian noodles (also $6.95). After she checked with the kitchen, she told me I could do so. Then I asked her which kind of noodles is best for the dish. “The cutting one,” she replied. Perhaps it was just her personal preference, but I went with it.

Zha Jiang Mian at Sha-Lin Noodle House

Zhan Jiang noodles at Sha-lin Noodle House

According to Wikipedia, Zha Jiang mian (炸酱面, literally means fried sauce noodles) is a Northern Chinese dish made with thick wheat noodles topped with ground pork stir-fried with Zha jiang (炸酱, salty fermented soybean paste). Zha Jiang Mian is comparable to spaghetti bolognese in Italian cuisine. It’s also a prototype which a Korean dish, Jajangmyeon (also spelled jjajangmyeon; 자장면; 짜장면) derived from.

While I was waiting, I could watch through a kitchen window how a chef held up a big piece of dough on his left hand and swiftly carved it into flat noodles with a knife on his right hand. His lightning speed knife action could have made him the next Bruce Lee if he found his way into a kung fu flick.

Less than five minutes later Zha Jiang Mian was served. The dark brown pork sauce contrasted beautifully with the julienned cucumber as if I was looking at a painting in a high-end gallery. Once I stirred them together, the glazed noodles looked so scrumptious my mouth started watering. The cutting noodles were soft yet chewy. Although the menu said that the dish was made with black bean sauce (normally refers to sauce made with Chinese fermented black bean (douchi–豆豉)), it tasted more like soybean sauce to me. The crunchy cucumber added contrast texture and refreshing taste to the otherwise one dimensional sauce.

After finished the meal, I was satisfied with both my stomach and my eyes. I can’t wait to try the other noodle varieties Sha-Lin has to offer on the next visits.

Sha-Lin Zha Jiang Mian: ©©©1/2

Sha-Lin Noodle House is located at 548 W. Broadway Street, Vancouver, BC, Canada. (T) 604.873.1816

BUDGET BREAKDOWN:

Remaining Budget: $121.25

Budget Spent: -$6.95 (not included HST)

Budget Available: $114.30

©2010 Tana Kosiyabong and CheapAppetite.com™. All rights reserved.

Become fans on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Share your favorite cheap eats

Try my Cheap Appétit recipes

Sha Lin Noodle House on Urbanspoon

18 thoughts on “Lightning Speed Knife Action and Zha Jiang Mian at Sha-Lin Noodle House

  1. I think I have driven by this restaurant a couple times as I’ve been tempted to try cos I love Zha Jiang Mian. Now with your assurance, I think I’m gonna try it very soon!

  2. I’ve always thought cutting noodles sounds strange but cool. If you are still free lancing in this neighbourhood, I’d recommend Peaceful Noodle as they make wicked noodles as well. Warning though, the menu is long like their noodles so can be difficult making a decision but I love their Beijing noodles! Your Zha Jiang Mian photo looks amazing by the way, and tho its only 9 am, its already making my mouth water!

    1. I’ll check out peaceful restaurant for sure. I’ll be working the that area for a few more weeks. Fortunately I got the window seat. so the pictures came out good. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    1. LotusRapper, not sure if I can go there while I’m freelancing because I’m on the clock there. So I can’t take long lunch. But I will put it down on my list and check it out when I can. I love chinese food. 🙂 If it comes from you, it must be good! 🙂 thanks for your recommendation!

  3. mmmm looks yummy! (as usual) =) Hope I’ll have a chance to go sometime soon though!

    Just curious, what kind of camera do you use?

    And did you know that it’s the Gastown’s Blues And Chili Festival this Sunday? I think you did a review on that last year, right?

    1. Hey Amy, Glad to see you back again. I use some cheap digital camera that’s about 3 years old now. It can take only 6 megapixel maximum. But it’s ok since I only shoot photos for online. However it doesn’t good picture in low light and tend to have lots of digital noise at higher ISO. Next time I’ll buy one that has bigger light sensor, but that will be in at least a year or two.

      I didn’t even know there’s Gastown Blues and Chilli Fest this sunday. I may have to work though. If not I will check it out. But probably not writing about it again.

  4. oooh… noodles are dreamy. They really are! I’m totally craving delicate, wide rice noodles, getting that lovely chewy bite that they have. The photos are driving me crazy — I want to just run out to one of my favorite noodle places and carb out! Thanks for sharing such a lovely find!

    1. lol. I love handmade noodles. I’m sure I’ll go back to try other kinds of noodles they have soon. The cutting noodles is soft yet chewy. So yummy. Glad to see you back here again Wasabi 🙂

  5. Hi Tana, hope you’re well. Actually, Korean zha jiang mian is quite similar to Chinese Hakka noodle. The only difference is the bean sauce. Have you ever tried Hakka noodle before? Then you must try it someday. haha… Enjoy and hope you’re having a great weekend.
    Cheers, Kristy

    1. Hey Kristy,
      I’m doing great. Thanks. I have never tried Hakka noodles. I have to see if I can find it in Vancouver. But before that I’ll try Zha jiang mian at the Peaceful restaurant nearby to see which one is better first 🙂

Leave a Reply

