The Not-So-Greasy Breakfast at Evelyn’s Cafe & Grill

By Tana Kosiyabong

Evelyn’s Cafe and Grill cheap breakfast

I first heard about Evelyn’s Cafe & Grill a few weeks ago from Grant, a good friend of mine. He is very supportive to my blog, and once in a while, he even helps editing my Cheap Appetite stories. Although I didn’t remember Grant’s exact word, he basically told me that he found another cheap breakfast joint for the Cheap Appetite. Evelyn’s is a bit more expensive than Yummy Sushi, but at least it is nice and clean.

Grant distastes Yummy Sushi, a cheap breakfast joint I wrote about last year, even though he has never set foot in that dingy place. In fact, I don’t think he will even touch it with a ten-feet pole. The guy always pokes fun of me about my dining experience at the run-down joint, and my dust-collecting Bowflex which occupied a quarter of the four hundred square feet bachelor suite I lived in.

It’s true that Yummy Sushi exterior is pretty shabby. And the interior is not any better. But it doesn’t mean that the food tastes horrible. I personally ’t care much about the décor as long as the food is good and cheap. And that’s why I am a fan of Yummy Sushi breakfast.

Since Yummy Sushi, I haven’t written about any breakfast joint for almost a year now. That’s enough reason to declare Evelyn’s Cafe and Grill as this week Cheap Appetite mission. Therefore, a couple days ago, I hopped on the No. 16 bus and got off at the Southwest corner of West Broadway and Arbutus Streets; then heading west about half a block to the breakfast joint.

Evelyn’s Cafe and Grill was nice and clean just like Grant described. It felt quite cozy as I stepped inside. Definitely way better than the dingy Yummy Sushi. Breakfast price here starts at $3.50 for two eggs, hash browns and two pieces of toast. For $1 more, I could add either 3 pieces of bacon, ham or 3 links of sausages. After a quick contemplation, I opted for two sunny-side up eggs, hash browns, two pieces of whole wheat toast, and asked if I could have one piece of bacon and two pieces of sausages instead. “Sure, no problem,” the cashier replied.

Evelyn’s Cafe and Grill medium coffee $1.67

I also ordered a medium cup of coffee ($1.67) to go along with the breakfast. Evelyn’s Cafe serves Far Coast coffee which was quite flavorful compared to the dishwater-like, one dollar coffee at Yummy Sushi.

Less than fifteen minutes later, the breakfast had arrived. At first glance, I could tell that the portion was smaller than Yummy Sushi breakfast. There were also fewer pieces of bacon/sausages. Yet I had to pay $1.50 more. (As of a few months ago, Yummy Sushi breakfast was still $2.99).

Evelyn’s Cafe & Grill cheap Breakfast close up

Once I looked beyond the portion size, I noticed a great feature that Evelyn’s breakfast had to offer. The meal appeared much less greasy than most breakfast I ever had. And the taste test confirmed what I saw. The eggs were beautifully cooked, yet not oily. The hash browns, which looked more like country fried potatoes, were crispy on one or two sides yet not covered with fat. The potatoes were diced in big chunks with skin on and seasoned with, perhaps, Old Bay spice; then sprinkled some chopped green onions on top. I did love the kicks in Evelyn’s hash browns.

The piece of bacon I had was crispy all the way through and yet again not greasy. I love to dip it in the runny bright orange yolk before popping it in my mouth. Hmm…  so good and full of saturate fat and cholesterol in every bite. 🙂 Well… at least there was very little added fat. The sausages, however, were slightly oily. But it was more likely because of the fat content in the sausages themselves, not the added oil. Moreover, the sausages were of better quality than those of Yummy Sushi.

Evelyn’s Cafe All day Breakfast near Broadway and Arbutus

I was impressed with the breakfast enough to walk up to the cashier and ask about the non-greasy breakfast. He told me that the secret was the big metal sheet grill which allows the cook to use minimal amount of oil to prepare breakfast. This is preferred by most customers in the neighborhood.

After the meal, I felt full and satisfied. On top of that, I didn’t feel greasy inside as I normally do when eating too much oily food. Even though Evelyn’s Cafe Breakfast is not as cheap as Yummy Sushi’s, I will definitely go back there again when I feel like a good hearty, yet not-so-greasy breakfast. However, this doesn’t mean that I will stop visiting Yummy Sushi. There is a time and a place for everything.

Evelyn’s Cafe & Grill Breakfast (2 eggs, hash browns, toast, bacon and sausage: ©©©© 1/4

Evelyn’s Cafe & Grill is located at 2176 W. Broadway, Vancouver, BC, Canada. (T) 604.7317117

Evelyn’s Cafe & Grill Restaurant Hours: MON-FRI 7:30 am to 5:30 pm. SAT 9:30 am to 4 pm. Closed on Sunday

BUDGET BREAKDOWN:

Remaining Budget: $127.42

Budget Spent: -$6.17 (not included HST)

Budget Available: $121.25

©2010 Tana Kosiyabong and CheapAppetite.com™. All rights reserved.

Become fans on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Share your favorite cheap eats

Try my Cheap Appétit recipes

Evelyn's Cafe and Grill on Urbanspoon

10 thoughts on “The Not-So-Greasy Breakfast at Evelyn’s Cafe & Grill

  1. Hey Tana,

    Wow this sure brings back memories. Evelyn’s was there as far back as ’91/’92 if my memory is correct. Back then a breakfast like yours I had for around $4, so really the price hasn’t gone up in almost 20 years. They weren’t a favorite place of mine back then, where in that area you could find other cheap eats options. But thanks for bringing me down memory lane.

    A quick funny story: one time I was scheduled for a doctor visit (1st visit for that doctor) and since I arrived quite early, I decided to get a breakfast at Evelyn’s. Then later during the doctor’s visit he decided to give me an impromptu blood test (which was strange, I only went to complain about heartburn). Well a week later the test results came back and the report said I had high cholesterol. DUH ! I ate a full breakfast downstairs a mere hour before the test. Suffice to say I never went back to that doctor again ! LOL.

    1. Wow, I didn’t know that this place has been around that long. $4 for a breakfast 20 years ago was pricey I think. But it is pretty good price now. Can’t believer they only increase the price 50 cents in 20 years. Good for us customer I guess. I’m glad you enjoy the post!

      Your story is funny! lol. Did you tell the doctor that you just had a full breakfast an hour earlier? You had heartburn and still went in for a full breakfast. lol. Not sure why he need a blood test for a heartburn. weird indeed.

  2. Tana, you were in my hood! Wish I had ran into you! This is my go to place for breakfast! The owners are so friendly and the breakfast deals here are unbelievable. I love how they slice the breakfast sausages. Did you notice the bottle of hot siracha sauce on the table, I would drizzle that all over my potatoes and bacon and such, YUMMY!

    1. Imkoonta, I didn’t know you lived in the area, and actually go there for breakfast. That’s so cool. I’m glad you like the place too. I definitely go back there again. I didn’t notice siracha sauce though. I went to sit outside. They just brought me some ketchup and salt pepper. Is it an authentic Sriracha sauce or a fake one? I’d love to try the potato and bacon with spicy sauce one day. 🙂

  3. It definitely looks nice and ungreasy, yet still naughty enough to be a satisfying fry-up breakfast! Good that they let you split the bacon and sausages – I hate it when places don’t allow simple things like this.

Leave a Reply

