A Super Extra Value Meal at Urban Burger.

By Tana Kosiyabong

Urban Burger's Urban Combo

My veggie mode was as short lived as Hollywood celebrity marriages. After a week or so of healthy eating, I decided to call it quit. Since then I have returned to the typical meat-lover diet to satisfy my cravings. A few days after I reinstated my carnivorous status, I walked past Urban Burger on my way to the beach. This restaurant is located on Davie Street between Burrard and Bute Streets, close to the Vera’s Burger Shack. Although both burger joints are not exactly right across the street from each other, they must have been in some sort of business wars.

Intrigued by the rivalry vibes in the air, I popped my head in Urban Burger to check out their menu board. And I was glad with what I saw in big bold types – $5.99 Urban Combo (a beef burger, fries and a 16 oz fountain drink). “Cool! The whole combo for the price one Vera Burger. Now this’s a good deal,” I mumbled as my feet took several involuntary steps closer toward the counter. “An Urban Combo, please,” I told the cashier.

Menu Board at Urban Burger (as of August 14th, 2010)

Urban Burger Combo: Beef Burger, Fries and 16 oz Drink for $5.99

Similar to Vera’s, Urban Burger will grill their burgers to order. So I had plenty of time to check out the interior décor before the burger was served. The restaurant was clean and modern, but the muted green and burgundy color combination was not very appetizing to my eyes.

Soon enough, my order was ready. The burger bun looked so cute with the Urban Burger logo mark on top. Very nice touch for a cheap burger combo. The skin-on fries were golden brown, crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. The fountain drink was a fountain drink, you know, from the well-known red brand. It would be too redundant to review such product. But I was totally happy it came with the combo.

Blueprint for Urban Burger

Urban Burger fresh beef patty also sold separately for $1.50 each

Beef, on the other hand, was my main focus here. Unfortunately, the first bite was a bit bland. Despite a good portion size, it didn’t have the bold, beefy flavor I was hoping for. If the patty could talk, it would have cried out for some salt and pepper. The mayo on both top and bottom buns had proven to be too much for my taste. But even a 5th grader knows that a little bit of ketchup and mustard can do wonders on a bland, overly mayo burger. And they didn’t disappoint me. I finished the burger in a pretty good mood.

Tastewise, I preferred the Vera Burger to the Urban Burger. (To check out my Vera’s Burger mission, click here.) However, I love the Urban Burger’s price a lot. Urban combo has much bigger bang for buck than Vera’s. In fact it’s even cheaper than a McDonald’s quarter pounder with cheese extra value meal ($6.19). I guess this makes Urban Burger Combo a Super Extra Value Meal!

Urban Burger’s Urban Combo: ©©©1/2

Urban Burger is located at 1067 Davie Street, Vancouver, BC, Canada (T) 604.568.3133

BUDGET BREAKDOWN:

Remaining Budget: $148.33

Budget Spent: -$5.99

Budget Available: $142.34

©2010 Tana Kosiyabong and CheapAppetite.com™. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

Become fans on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Share your favorite cheap eats

Try my Cheap Appétit recipes

Urban Burger on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “A Super Extra Value Meal at Urban Burger.

  1. The burger meat looks very juicy and yummy! Well, I prefer more mayo on my burger. Glad that it doesn’t dissapoint you after all. Have a great day.
    Cheers, kristy

Leave a Reply

