CheapAppetite.com – Cheap Eats and Good Eats Vancouver

A home-style meal at SuperWok: Taiwanese Fried Rice Stick (Vermicelli)

In asian cuisine, breakfast, cheap eats vancouver under $10, cheap eats vancouver under $5, cheap lunch, restaurants on January 24, 2011 at 12:35 am

By Tana Kosiyabong

Taiwanese Fried Rice Stick at SuperWok

I was so busy last week. Before I knew, it was already Saturday. I had to find the next Cheap Appetite mission fast. So I walked out the door, strolled around the neighbourhood and somehow ended up in front of the SuperWok. Even though it was close to my place, I had never checked it out before.

SuperWok sounded to me like one of those typical North American Chinese food court vendors at the malls. Moreover I was confused by the varieties of cuisines it offered, from North American breakfast and sandwiches to Korean and Taiwanese dishes. That was why I couldn’t take the restaurant seriously. However, it was getting late in the day and the beautiful sun light would be gone in a few hours. Time was running out. “Screw it! I’m going in,” I mumbled to myself.

SuperWok is a mom-and-pop restaurant located at the five hundred block of Dunsmiur Street, just East of the BCIT downtown campus. Since it caters to students, the prices are very reasonable. The interior was clutter and dated. During my first visit, I felt overwhelmed by the menu choices scattered around the restaurants. So I focused only on the left wall where food photos with English names posted. After a quick chat with one of the restaurant owners, I decided to order the Taiwanese Fried Rice Stick ($6.79) because she told me she was originally from Taiwan.

Taiwanese Fried Rice Stick at SuperWok

Ten minutes later, the dish was served. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the rice vermicelli were perfectly cooked and well-seasoned with soy sauce and black pepper. Even though the noodles were stir-fried, they weren’t greasy at all. The dish was not only infused with fragrant flavours of the Shitake mushrooms, dry shrimps, onions and celeries, but also full of contrasting textures. The veggies (onions, celeries, carrots, cabbages and bean sprouts) were crunchy and the mushrooms were chewy and fun-to eat. SuperWok Taiwanese fried rice stick reminded me of a similar home-cooked noodle dish my dad used to fix for our family. It was simple yet full of flavours, just the way I like it.

While I was enjoying my meal, I had more time to look at the other menu items. The crispy pork sandwich ($2.75, or $3.75 with egg) had caught my eyes. I will definitely check it out on my next visit to SuperWok.

SuperWok Taiwanese Fried Rice Stick (vermicelli) ©©© 3/4

SuperWok: 505 Dunsmiur Street, Vancouver BC (T) 604.569.2558

©2011 Tana Kosiyabong and CheapAppetite.com™. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

Become fans on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Share your favorite cheap eats

Try my Cheap Appétit recipes

Super Wok on Urbanspoon

  1. The mom and pops are the best! This does look perfectly seasoned and stir-fried.

  2. Isn’t it supposed to have more vermicelli than vegetables? It looks more like a stir fried veggies to me but should be very delicious as well. :o) Hope you’re enjoying your day.
    Cheers, Kristy

  3. This sounds delicious for sure!

  4. One of my favourite dishes is a good stir-fry. This looks delicious. I will definitely have to check this place out. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

