CheapAppetite.com – Cheap Eats and Good Eats Vancouver

Trees Organic Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake — A Tribute to the Golden Girls’ Rue McClanahan

In bakery, cheap eats vancouver under $10, coffee shop / tea house, dessert, north american cuisine, Uncategorized on June 6, 2010 at 11:59 pm

By Tana Kosiyabong

Chocolate Swirl Cheese Cake at Trees Organic

I’m not a big fan of cheesecake. But I am a big fan of the Golden Girls. So when Rue McClanahan passed away earlier this week, I just had to write a tribute for her. Blanche Devereaux is one of my favorite sitcom characters. Actually, to hell with it — I love them all; Sophia Petrillo, Dorothy Zbornak, Blanche Devereaux, and Rose Nylund.

If you are also a fan of the Golden Girls, you’d know how much they love cheesecake. And chocolate cheesecake was always their favorite. Although my budget doesn’t allow me to fly in the best chocolate cheesecake from Miami, I did my best to find one in Vancouver that would be Golden Girls-worthy.

According to the Province (a major British Columbia newspaper), cheesecake from Trees Organic Coffee is the best in Vancouver. Since I normally don’t eat cheesecake enough to know and I had no time to do extensive research, I’ll just went with their recommend.

Fortunately, a Trees Organic has recently opened in Gastown on the same block as the Steam Clock, just a few blocks from my place. But rumor has it, their cheesecakes are so pricey you almost have to sell your first born child just to buy a piece. Though it’s not exactly a Cheap Appetite, dammit, this is a special occasion. My beloved Rue McClanahan would not want me skimping out on this one. So I was going to go for it, provided I could get a piece for under $10.

Trees Organic Coffee Gastown is a small yet cozy shop. A couple of tables beside the front windows are great for people watching while enjoying your cheesecake and coffee. There is a refrigerated display case featuring varieties of cheesecakes at the counter. Since I was there for a tribute to Rue, I ordered a piece of chocolate cheesecake. But the closest they have is Chocolate Swirl cheesecake. I guessed that will do. “It’ll be $6.29,” the cashier said. Thank G_D that I had prepared myself for a very steep price; otherwise I would have had a massive heart attack right then and there, and joined Rue for some cheesecake in the afterlife.

Trees Organic Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake in Gastown

Since the lovely tables beside the window were occupied, I went to sit at the table outside so I could enjoy the beautiful weather. Shortly after I sat back to watch the passersby, the cheesecake arrived. It was plated in a big ceramic square dish decorated with chocolate syrup and caramel streaks. A couple dollops of whip cream were on the opposite corners. To be fair, it was a big piece of cheesecake. However, considering all the fat in this indulgent dessert, no one should ever eat the whole piece alone in one sitting. But I was about to do it.

The chocolate swirl cheesecake was definitely creamy, rich and decadent. However, it was a bit too sweet for my taste. And they may have added some sour cream to the mix, as the tanginess overpowered the chocolatey flavor. What the hell? I paid six bucks for a chocolate cheesecake and I couldn’t even taste any chocolate in it. Had the world gone mad? And because it was so rich, after about half a piece, I already had enough, but anyone who reads this blog regularly knows I could never just throw $3 worth of cheesecake away. So I kept going until it all disappeared.

Gastown view at Trees Organic on Water Street

As I was eating the chocolate swirl cheesecake, I reminisced over all the good times I had been watching the Golden Girls. Blanche Devereaux, aka The Human Mattress (as Sophia once called her), was a sexually liberated mature woman vividly portrayed by Rue. Her line “I’m jumpier than a virgin at a prison rodeo” is a classic. But no matter how slutty she was, Blanche is always a good company to Sophia, Dorothy, Rose, and the audience. Thank You For Being a Friend, Blanche Elizabeth Devereaux (B.E.D). I’ll still be watching you on TV whenever I find you. And may you rest in peace Rue McClanahan.

Trees Organic Chocolate Swirl Cheesecake: ©©© 1/8

BUDGET BREAKDOWN:
Remaining Budget: $210.70
Budget Spent: -$5.99 ($6.29 included sales tax)
Budget Available: $204.71

Trees Organic Coffee Gastown is located at 321 Water Street, Vancouver, BC, Canada. (T) 604.633.3880

©2010 Tana Kosiyabong and CheapAppetite.com™. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

Become fans on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter

Share your favorite cheap eats

Try my Cheap Appétit recipes

Trees Organic Coffee on Urbanspoon

  1. Peace to Blanche. Wonderful tribute to a wonderful actress. BTW – you live in one of my favorite neighborhoods in Vancouver. I loved that area when I last visited!

    • I actually live in the middle of the good and bad area of Gastown. But I still love it here. It’s not too clinical and I love the buildings. I’m glad you like it too!

  2. I’ve been to Trees 2 times. Both times I didn’t have the cheesecake. It just seems so expensive to pay $6 for one slice… even with the Entertainment coupon, but maybe I’m just cheap, lol.

    I had quiche, salad, 4 shot americano. It was all yummy, so maybe next time I’ll have to try the cheesecake. Thx for the review!

    • Tia, I wouldn’t buy their cheesecake either if it wasn’t for this tribute to Rue. It’s definitely too expensive for my taste. An no one should eat the whole piece of that cake in one sitting. And the chocolate cheesecake wasn’t even chocolatey.

  3. That chocolate cheesecake looks so decadent! Wish I could have a slice!

  4. Oh my goodness, your post made me cry! Especially the last paragraph…”thank you for being a friend”!!! So sad! So sad indeed and very much a great loss. I am so sorry that your chocolate cheesecake was not what you had hoped, particularly since it was so expensive! Crazy people! What ARE they thinking selling unappetizing cheesecake for so much! :) Hope you are well.

    • Hey Patty,
      Sorry to make you cry. It’s definitely sad, but Blanche Devereaux still lives on TV and DVDs. Still as good as new. :P Too bad I couldn’t find a better cheesecake for the occasion. Thank you for spending time reading my post! :)

  5. I might not pay too much attention to anything organic. In fact, we don’t buy too much organic stuff unless it’s on sale.
    But if I walk by the front door of this coffee shop seeing someone enjoy this awesome cheesecake with a relaxing Gastown view. I believe I would jump into there right away!

    • I wouldn’t buy organic stuff unless it’s on sale either :) And I won’t pay $6 for the cheesecake here again. It’s for this special occasion. But I may get a cup of coffee there every now and then :)

  6. aww, that was a lovely tribute. very Blanche-like. extra points for suffering through an expensive piece of cheesecake in her memory. ;)

  7. Oh man, you had me drooling over this gorgeous looking thing! Hmm..mm… Have to make one tomorrow! Wow, this is BAD! haha….
    Regards, Kristy ^_^

    • hehe, I know you love sweets Kristy. I always love your cooking, especially the dessert! I’d love to see you make the cheesecake:-) I bet it’s yummy.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

